I’ll Be There If He Will Let Me

Thanks to all who commented on my latest post. Your thoughts and experience gave me a lot to think about.

First, how sad that we have friends and family who are addicts in some way. I don’t mean, “Addicted to Chocolate.” I mean, real, diagnosed addicts. I am fortunate that my addict connection lives far away – I am not impacted like most of those who commented. You all are strong and smart in how you dealt with it, Thank you for shared your story with me.

Second, you commentators really cut to the chase on this one! I love that.  I took away that I can offer my support and my perspective and Uncle D will do with it what he will. Once I communicate, my part is done. He will get help, he will continue on this path…it is up to him.

With that in mind, I have decided to write him a letter that asks him to get help for himself. I will address his relationship in the barest of terms so as not to make him feel defensive and to focus on the person I actually love: him. I am going to share with him my fears (on his behalf), express regret that we are not closer, and tell him, under no uncertain terms, that I love him dearly.

I will send the letter (not email) with hope but no expectations. It is the least I can do to help someone who struggles to help himself.

One response to “I’ll Be There If He Will Let Me

  1. Good job. I’m proud of you.