Family: Can’t Live With ‘Em, And Killing Them’s Illegal

Here’s another guest blog post from The Mother someone I know on Twitter and through Twitter Moms.  She’s also the one who took me to task on one of my posts – but in a very loving way.  (Here’s her blog.) I’ll be posting a new entry tomorrow, promise.

The Mother needs your help: now that her husband accepted a house guest for the biggest weekend of their lives – Bar Mitzvah weekend of her oldest son – how does she handle it?  I gave my advice – she’s interested in what you have to say.

Okay, Memoirgirl. I have one for you.

My youngest is having is Bar Mitzvah next weekend. It’s a lot of work, and I’m catering two meals for out-of-towners.

One of my husband’s relatives called from Toronto and said she is sending down her 15 year old, ALON, for us to take care of for the weekend.

This kid has two uncles and a grandmother who are going to be here, too, but apparently they either weren’t capable enough or invited to take this kid for the weekend.

Would you EVER consider sending your child to someone else to take care of during one of the busiest weekends of their lives?

My first reaction is that it was a damn good thing my husband took that phone call, because I probably would have told her to stuff it (although I wouldn’t have been that polite).

Am I over-reacting? ‘Cause I’m no expert, either.

4 responses to “Family: Can’t Live With ‘Em, And Killing Them’s Illegal

  1. NOPE. No way, no how. I would have called back and politely told her it wasn’t a good weekend and offer her an alternative place to dump her kid.

  2. I would not have done it, however… you can put the kid to WORK that weekend.

  3. No, I wouldn’t have ever done something like at and I would also be just as irritated as you and would be pressuring my husband to “fix it” by finding him another place to stay. If that wasn’t possible, I would asolutely make a nice list of things for him to do starting the moment he arrives. I also have a tendency to force my husband to be responsible for the inconsiderate actions of his own relatives…perhaps he should be in charge of supervising the young lad? And, if he’s not willing to take that on, perhaps he should reconsider his agreement to the idea in the first place.

  4. You’re not over-reacting. Having recently lived through my son’s Bar Mitzvah, I know it’s an amazingly intense stressful weekend and you won’t have time for anything extra.

    That said, how well do you know this boy? If he feels comfortable with you and has spent time at your house before I agree with Liz’s suggestion – put him to work like one of the family. At 15 he won’t need much looking after and might even be helpful.

    If not, I would try to find a way to suggest politely that he may be more comfortable with a relative who can actually pay him some attention. I mean, really, you’re not likely to be a lot of fun (at least I wasn’t).

    Otherwise, hope the boy can take care of himself and don’t give it another thought – you certainly can’t be expected to entertain him on top of an event like this. He can either help, or at least stay out of the way. And if he *can’t* do those things, or if he starts complaining, then you can’t be held responsible for your actions in response…

    Good luck!!!!